AL’s candidate AHM Khairuzzaman Liton along with his supporters shows V-sign after casting his vote at a Rajshahi polling centre on Monday. Photo: BD Post

The ruling Awami League-backed mayoral candidates were set to post overwhelming win in Rajshahi, Sylhet and Barishal city corporation elections held on Monday in a peaceful atmosphere.
In Rajshahi, AL’s candidate AHM Khairuzzaman Liton won comprehensively beating his archrival BNP-backed candidate Mosaddek Hossain Bulbul. AHM Khairuzzaman Liton bagged 1,63,394 votes while BNP candidate Mosaddek Hossain Bulbul got 78,492 votes.
In Sylhet, as per results of 105 out of 134 voting centres, AL-backed mayoral candidate Badar Uddin Ahmed Kamran got 70,894 votes and his nearest rival BNP’s candidate Ariful Haque Choudhury bagged 69,673 votes.
In Barishal, 99 out of 123 polling centres, AL’s mayoral candidate Serniabat Sadiq Abdullah got 95,440 votes while BNP-backed candidate Mujibur Rahman Sarwar bagged 12767 votes. Earlier, Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Khan Mohammad Nurul Huda expressed his satisfaction over the overall situation of the three city corporation polls and said the elections were considerably good.
“Some irregularities were held in the Barishal City Corporation polls while the rest of the city corporation polls were held peacefully,” said the EC. The EC gave his reaction on the three city corporation polls at Election Commission office at Agargaon this afternoon. Peaceful elections were held at all 138 poll centers in Rajshahi, he said, adding that polls at all the 134 centers excepting two were fair in Sylhet. In Barishal, election has been postponed at one polling centre out of 123 centers while the results of 15 more polling centres have also been withheld due to sporadic incidents.
The election results have been postponed on the basis of information received from the returning officers, said the CEC.
Replying to a query on boycott of election by the BNP nominated mayoral candidate in Rajshahi, the CEC said there were no irregularities in Rajshahi City polls.
“We do not expect any irregularity in the city corporation polls…the information coming from the presiding officers is quite acceptable to us,” he added.
The voting in the three city corporations ended peacefully at 4.00pm amid tighten security measures and festive manner.
The balloting started at 8:00am and at all voting centers of the three cities with the participation of a huge number of voters, standing on long queues.
“The RCC polls were held in festival manner. I have witnessed that such a festive and peaceful poll in my life’, remarked Abul Hannan, Assistant Professor of Barendra College after casting his vote at a polling centre under ward-23 of RCC polls.
Four candidates are contesting for the mayoral post in Rajshahi City Corpration polls. They are ruling Awami League-nominated AHM Khairuzzaman Liton (Boat), BNP-nominated Mohammad Mosaddek Hossain Bulbul (Sheaf of Paddy), Islami Andolan Bangladesh candidate Md Shafiqul Islam (Hand Fan) and independent candidate Md Murad Morshed (Elephant).
As per per the EC sources said a total of 3,18,138 voters are in RCC. Among them, 1,56,085 are male and 1,62,053 are female.
In Sylhet City Corporation (SCC), seven candidates are contesting for the mayoral post. The candidates are: AL-nominated Badar Uddin Ahmed Kamran (Boat), BNP-candidate Ariful Haque Chowdhury (Sheaf of Paddy), Islami Andolan Bangladesh-backed Dr Md Moazzem Hossain Khan (Hand Fan), Bangladesh Samajtantrik Dal candidate Md Abu Jafar (Ladder) and independent candidates Ahasan Mahbub Jobayer (Table Watch), Md Ahasanul Haque Taher (Deer) and Md Badruzzaman Selim (Bus).
In SCC, there are 3,21,732 voters. Of them, 1,7144 are male and 1,50288 female.
In Barisal City Corporation (BCC), six candidates are competing polls for the mayoral post.
They are: AL candidate Serniyabat Sadek Abdullha (Boat), BNP-nominated Md Majibur Rahman Sarwar (Sheaf of Paddy), Islami Andolan candidate Obaidur Rahman (Hand Fan), Communist Party of Bangladesh (CPB) candidate Abul Kalam Azad ((Sickle), Bangladesh Samajtantrik Dal candidate Manisha Chakrabarty (Ladder) and Jatiya Party candidate Md Iqbal Hossain (Plough).
There are 2,42,666 voters in Barisal City Corporation. Of them, 1,21,436 are male and 1,20,739 female.
A total of 530 councilor candidates are contesting in the three city polls.
Mosaddeque Hossain Bulbul, Mayoral candidate from BNP staged a sit-in-demonstration in front of Binodepur Islamia College polling centre the morning in protest against ousting agents of Sheaf of Paddy from the centre.

BD Post Report